An Open Letter to The Yarn Harlot

20 Nov

Dear Stephanie,

So last night, my partner and I made our way to the Suzuki Foundation Meet ‘N’ Greet (though I am sure it had a swankier name). He is a Suzuki Foundation supporter and when the invite arrived in the mail several weeks ago there was no question as to whether we would be attending or not. Meeting David Suzuki is on my list of 101 Things to Do Before I Die. Technically, it was “Have lunch with David Suzuki” but they were serving appetizers and there was a cash bar, so that’s like lunch, right?

suzukisock1

Round about last week I remembered some kind of “You Know What Would Be Fun?” blog post you made in light of capturing Obama AND Greg Kinnear with a sock. Yesterday afternoon, armed with a dual purpose, I put my SIP in my bag and headed for the function. I was pretty nervous waiting in line to speak with David Suzuki and the lady behind me who insisted on pushing and shoving did not help. Obviously, she did not know I had a bag full of 2.5mm needles or maybe she would have backed her bad self up a bit. I made the pitch and Suzuki graciously agreed to have the photo taken. As you can see, he requested a two-fer. Yarn fumes have that effect on people, I suppose.

suzukisocknose

Canadian Olympian Adam van Koeverdin was in attendance (and gave an awesome speech) and so I killed two birds with one stone. Or something like that. As I was explaining The Crazy to van Koeverdin, an onlooker mis-heard me and thought I said “Nutters Without Borders”. Knitters? Nutters? Is there that big a difference? Surely not to an innocent bystander.

adamplussock

I’ve just now re-read that post and see that exceptions will only be made for “other really cool people or celebrities”.

Stephanie, I offer you David Suzuki and Canadian Olympic kayaker Adam van Koeverden. It’s your call.

Kim

8 Responses to “An Open Letter to The Yarn Harlot”

  1. AlisonH December 8, 2008 at 9:02 pm #

    I love it. Well done! (I’m going to have to knit a sock just to get in on the fun–I’m mostly a lace shawls type.)

  2. tree December 8, 2008 at 10:09 pm #

    Just hopping over from the YH to say good job! Two important, sexy men held your sock and you’ve got pictures to prove it. Nice work.

  3. SusieH December 9, 2008 at 2:27 am #

    Whoa!! DAvid Suzuki looks like a truly happy human. I like that :)

  4. LeslieEileen December 9, 2008 at 5:47 am #

    You did well, knitter. And thanks for helping make our Stephanie a happy harlot again.

    The photos of David Suzuki make me cry from happiness.

  5. lucette December 9, 2008 at 12:44 pm #

    Your photos and story is priceless. Thanks for cheering me up on a dreadful snowy day here.

  6. tinknogard December 9, 2008 at 6:30 pm #

    love(1,000,000)

  7. Kathleen December 9, 2008 at 10:42 pm #

    Well done! I hope the eventual wearer of that sock realizes it’s place in history!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Through the Roof « A Vehicle for Brown Sugar - December 8, 2008

    [...] And since I have your attention (momentarily anyhow -I realize you’re probably here to see this), I want to take the time to gently remind you about Tricoteuses Sans Frontières or Knitters [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

